The house located 1723 Pennsylvania is quite an impressive structure with its cut-stone exterior, corner turret, and 4,757 square feet of space. Besides the 3 fireplaces, intricate woodwork, stunning stained glass, this home features a recreation room on the 3rd Floor w/ 13 foot ceilings, hidden wall safe, & secret trap door through one of the bedrooms floors. After a inquiry into its history from an old friend, I decided to start exploring the backstory of the home and its original owners.
In August of June of 1893, Auguste B Ewing sold the lot located 1723 Pennsylvania to Ernst Gaier. The structure on the lot upon this sale is unknown as the home that still impressively stands today was constructed 5 years later.
Ernst Gaier was born September, 21, 1847 to Michael and Marian Gaier. The son of a wealthy family, Ernst studied in Stuttgart, Germany before setting his sights on the millinery business (design and manufacture of hats) which he pursued and excelled at for his entire life. Seeking new adventures, Ernst set sail across the Atlantic for the America eventually settling in St. Louis.
It was at the corner of Fourth and Pine streets that Mr. Gaier established his wholesale millinery business with fellow milleriner Mr. Stroh. The location changed with success from this original location to the Boatmen’s Bank building and on to the old Armory building. After the passing of Mr. Stroh, Ernst formed a stock company and changed the name of Gaier & Stroh to Gaier, Stroh, & Company in honor of his late partner.
In 1875, Ernst married Miss Lena Keller, daughter of Christian and Maria as well as the Fatherland. Ernst and Lena had two children; Amelia and Charlotte who stayed with their parents at their home on Pennsylvania. Ernst was regarded as a highly successful businessman with memberships in the Liederkranz Club (considered the most exclusive social club among German-Americans in St. Louis) and the Turn Verien (German Gymnastic Movement).
On January 23, 1906, Ernst passed away and his wife stayed as the owner of the property until 1933 when she deeded it to her daugher Emilie (Amelia) Sifel, wife of HB Stifel who kept the property until 1937 where, as a widow, she sold the home to G. Gundolf.
Elegant Restoration of Cut-Stone Home boasting 4,757 sq ft of Old World Charm. Grand Entry Foyer features Historic Woodwork & Period Lighting. Walk through Living Room w/ Refinished Hardwoods and Stunning Fireplace & into Dining Room w/ Ornate Built-in Hutch. Comfortable Rear Family Room w/ Adjoining 1/2 Bath opens to Sizable Kitchen boasting Original Tiled Floor, Marble Countertops, & Plenty of Cabinet Space. Take Staircase past Intricate Stained Glass & onto 2nd Floor Landing before entering Inviting Rear Master Suite w/ Double Closets, Adjacent Sitting Room, & Full Bath w/ Double Vanity, Separate Tub/Shower, & Heated Tile Flooring. Laundry Room, Marble-walled 2nd Full Bath w/ Clawfoot Tub & Original Tiled Floor, & 2 Spacious Bedrooms complete this level. Head up to 3rd Floor for 2 Additional Bedrooms, Large Recreation Room w/ 13’ Ceilings, & Roughed-in Plumbing for 3rd Bath. Spacious Lot on Quiet Street w/ No Cut-through Traffic & Off-street Parking.